Cal Ripken All Stars

Updated Wednesday November 25, 2015 by John Hand.

This year Niskayuna Baseball has selected All-Star rosters based on a voting system for each division. In the past the league would use an open tryout where kids would field and hit a few balls during a period of time while being evaluated by members of the league. While this method has its merit it also comes with some issues as a one day tryout should not be the criteria for making an All-Star team considering players have participated in our rec league all season long. With that in mind the league is trying a new process this season, one that was considered throughout the season and a change in direction from that previously communicated.

The selection was based on multiple levels of review.

1. Managers at each division vote for 12 players to represent the All-Star teams coming from that division

2. After receiving votes the league would review. If there was not clear distinction in number of votes for the top 12 players those receiving votes could potentially be asked to attend a separate workout.

These two criteria provide a more robust review of the kids in our program by the coaches from the division's they participate in. It should be noted that a tryout was not guaranteed in this process unless the voting was unable to establish the top 12 players. While this system has some flaws as well I believe this gave a greater voice to our league to advocate for players based on their performance throughout the season bringing a higher level of awareness.

The league will continue to evaluate this process and improve whenever and wherever possible. With that the 2015 All-Star rosters are announced as follows. Congratulations to all our All Star selections.  Please note we will also field an 10U National team this summer - details are still being worked out:


Parker Aikens
Sami Chowdhrey
Shane Goldberg
Adam Gonzalez
Benjamin Grossman
Christian LaFleche
Henry Marcincuk
Colin McMahon
Zachary Mravlja
Duncan Munro
Nolan Payne
Jacob Pirrone-Salisbury
Samuel Booth
Shane Bracken
Saif Chowdhrey
Adam Halpin
Matthew Lavigne
Willem Mizenko
Michael Jr Polsinelli Jr
Matthew Sacco
Alexander Samaniuk
James Soule
Ryan Spain
Nicholas Thomas
William Canale
Owen Evans
Samuel Falace
David Fields
Caleb Goldberg
Abhi Katragadda
Noah Kenyon
Dylan Mennillo
John Pechar
Daniel Quinn
Thomas Titsworth
Tanner Wood
Nolan Beattie
Tyler Borwhat
Laith Chowdhrey
Connor Dayton
Ryan Funyak
Ian Halpin
Brody Johnson
James King
Dylan Lane
Darian Parker
Alex Russo
Craig Woolley
Luke Zink
Kevin Abatto
Brian Bowman
Tyler Camelo
Gianni Camileo
Sanzio Digesualdo
Ayden Funiciello
Tyler Gleason
Aidan Graham
Jacob Hand
Ronan Johnson
Paul Lavigne, III
Nicholas Reffelt
Connor Singsheim
Aaden Woodward

 We also have a 10U National Team this summer...

Carroll, Tyler
Compton, Conor
Connelly, Patrick
Cox, Lance
Filkins, Cooper

Gray, Jackson 
Henson, David 
McClenon, Matthew 
Olson, Will 
Paderon, Marcus 
Richards, Braden 
Sargent, Justin 
Wegter-McNelly, Keller